St. Simon's Island, Georgia, beach at sunrise

Island Vibes

Like I tell everyone who asks if I’m Southern: Florida is in the South, but it isn’t Southern.

I really identify more as an islander – a hippie one at that. I love slurping down smoothies, wearing floral bell sleeves and sandals that strap up past my ankles, and, of course, being outside. Especially being on the beach.Driftwood Beach, Jekyll Island, GeorgiaSt. Simon's Island, Georgia, beach at sunrise

So, not shockingly, our annual family beach vacation to St. Simon’s Island is one my favorite times of the year. Like, it might beat Christmas. (Except that Hallmark doesn’t celebrate it with a full arsenal of movies, which is highly disappointing. I plan on going into screenwriting just to create a summer Hallmark movie that takes place on St. Simon’s Island.)

bw7St. Simon's Island beach, GeorgiaEvery morning, I wake up at daybreak and run down to the beach. I think that “daybreak” is the perfect word to describe that time. It’s like watching the sky split open, blazing with all the excitement it bottled up overnight.

Driftwood Beach, Jekyll Island, Georgiac2

If some of the black-and-white photos seem a little grainy…it’s because they are. Literally. The salt coalesced on my camera lens. Does salty air make for high-quality photos? No. But it makes for some pretty high-quality memories.

(That will be an iconic line in my summer Hallmark movie.)

Driftwood Beach, Jekyll Island, Georgiac1

Hope you enjoyed! If you want more pictures or to stay updated on my Hallmark screenwriting ambitions, type your email into the “Stick Around” widget on the top right of the screen.

Leave a comment